UMC Links

Four U faculty win governor’s science medals

March 16, 2015 – The University of Utah, the state’s flagship research institution, today swept up half of the latest batch of Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology, with faculty members winning four of the eight awards. The U’s winners are professors Phyllis “Lissy” Coley and Erik Jorgensen in biology, Troy D’Ambrosio in business and […]

Read More

Trustees announce 2015 honorary degree recipients

March 10, 2015 – The University of Utah Board of Trustees today announced the names of three individuals chosen to receive the university’s highest honor—the honorary doctorate degree. The awards will be presented during the annual student commencement ceremony held on Thursday, May 7, 2015, in the Jon M. Huntsman Center beginning at 6:30 p.m. […]

Read More

Chemist Jen Heemstra wins Cottrell Scholar Award

Feb. 24, 2015 – Jennifer Heemstra, an assistant professor of chemistry, has won a Cottrell Scholar Award of $75,000 – a prize aimed at early career, physical sciences faculty who are committed to excellence in research and undergraduate teaching. “In addition to funding for my research program, I’m very excited that this award provides the […]

Read More

U mathematician wins prestigious Sloan Fellowship

Feb. 23, 2015 – Jonathan Chaika, an assistant professor of mathematics, today was named as one of 126 young U.S. and Canadian scientists to receive a prestigious 2015 Sloan Research Fellowship. The much sought-after fellowships and $50,000 awards are meant to “honor early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars, […]

Read More