UMC Links

U Hosts 2015 Public Service Awards

May 27, 2015– Several notable public servants with University of Utah connections will be recognized this week at the 2015 Public Service Awards, sponsored by the Utah chapter of the American Society for Public Administration. Award recipients have made outstanding contributions to the public sector and have helped to make Utah a better state.

“These awards are a great opportunity to promote good government and public service,” said J. Steven Ott, director of the Institute of Public and International Affairs at the University of Utah. “It’s exciting to pay tribute to those who have worked hard in the public sector to make communities stronger.”

For nearly 30 years, the American Society for Public Administration has provided the public service awards to raise awareness of the broad variety of services provided by the government and to show appreciation to public employees at the federal, state, county and local levels who elevate government work and improve the lives of others, according to LaNiece Davenport, president of the Utah Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration who is also a senior planner at the Wasatch Front Regional Council.

The Utah Chapter of ASPA will present its 2015 awards at a lunch in the Gould Auditorium at the Marriott Library on the University of Utah campus on May 28 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. There are four categories of awards:

  • Distinguished Service Award for an Elected Official, awarded to a person who has shown exceptional commitment, skill, and integrity, while serving the public with special distinction. 2015 recipient: Caitlin Gochnour, Ogden City Council and Utah League of Cities and Towns.
  • Distinguished Service Award for an Appointed Official, awarded to a person who has served the public with honor and integrity. 2015 recipients: Mike Haddon, Utah Department of Corrections, and Pam Roberts, Wasatch Waste and Recycling District.
  • Distinguished Service Award for Outstanding Contributions to Public Administration, awarded to a person who has made significant contributions to public administration through academia or as a public citizen. 2015 recipients: Dave Buhler, commissioner, Utah System of Higher Education, and Tim Chambless, associate professor, University of Utah Department of Political Science and Hinckley Institute of Politics.
  • Boards and Commissions Award of Excellence, awarded to a board or commission that has exhibited community service, worked to support the common good, is proactive in decision-making, and has facilitated public participation in governmental processes. 2015 recipient: Salt Lake City Housing Trust Fund Advisory Board


About the American Society for Public Administration

Established in 1939, the American Society for Public Administration is the largest and most prominent professional association in public administration. With a diverse membership of approximately 9,000 government and nonprofit administrators, scholars, educators, and students, ASPA advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration through its programs and services and fosters core public service values, including accountability and performance, professionalism, social equity, and ethics at the local, national and international levels.