UMC Links

Eight U Faculty Named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

The American Mathematical Society has named 1,119 mathematicians from around the word to its inaugural class of fellows, and the list includes eight mathematics faculty members at the University of Utah. They are Distinguished Professor Emeritus Paul Fife; two professors emeritus, Paul C. Roberts and Hugo Rossi; two distinguished professors, Mladen Bestvina and Christopher Hacon; and three professors, Kenneth Bromberg, Kenneth Golden and Dragan Milicic. The American Mathematical Society says designation as a fellow “recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.” Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the society has 30,000 members.