UMC Links

First Female Australian Prime Minister to Speak at the U

Former Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard.

September 10, 2014— Former Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard will be the keynote speaker at the annual World Leaders Lecture Forum sponsored by the University of Utah’s Tanner Humanities Center. Gillard’s lecture, “The Asian Century: Australia’s Experience and Strategic Opportunities for America,” will be held Wednesday, Sept. 17 at 11 a.m. in Libby Gardner Hall, 1375 E Presidents Circle. This event is free and open to the public.

In her lecture, Gillard will discuss the evolution of her government’s landmark “Australia in the Asian Century” white paper; the strategic opportunities in Asia as seen from Australia; and geopolitical developments that are engaging the United States and its leadership in Asia.

As the first female prime minister from 2010-2013 and in her previous role as deputy prime minister, Gillard was central to the successful management of Australia’s economy during the global financial crisis and positioned Australia to seize the benefits of Asia’s rise. In foreign policy, Gillard strengthened Australia’s alliance with the United States, secured stronger relationship with China, upgraded Australia’s ties with India and deepened ties with Japan, Indonesia and South Korea. Under her leadership, Australia was elected to the United Nations Security Council.

“Julia is a trailblazing politician and statesman whose experience and expertise make her a leading voice on Asia’s contemporary global influence,” said Bob Goldberg, professor of history and director of the Tanner Humanities Center. “We are excited to welcome such a prominent international figure to speak.”

Launched in 2007, the World Leaders Lecture Forum brings to Utah individuals of international stature and global impact whose influence shapes world events. Past lecturers include human rights activist John Prendergast, former Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Mohamed ElBaradei and Shirin Ebadi, former Doctors Without Borders President James Orbinski, former Columbian President César Gaviria and former Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Barak.