UMC Links

Diverse Class of More Than 6,500 Set to Graduate From University on May 2

April 22, 2003 — The University of Utah class of 2002-2003, comprised of a Rhodes Scholar and students from 43 countries, 45 U.S. states and 21 Utah counties, will march to Elgar’s “Pomp and Circumstance” on Friday, May 2 at the Jon M. Huntsman Center. The procession of graduates will start at 8:20 a.m. with the commencement ceremony beginning at 9 a.m. (Guests should plan to be in their seats prior to 8:30 a.m. Tickets are not required.)

A total of 6,843 bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees will be awarded to University graduates, 2,275 more than were handed out to the class of 1992-1993 a decade ago. Of the 6,843 degrees, 5,222 are bachelor’s; 1,058 are master’s; 311 are doctorate; 125 are Juris Doctor; 102 are Doctors of Medicine; and 25 are Doctors of Pharmacy. Of this year’s graduates, 3,750 are men and 3,093 are women.

The youngest bachelor’s degree recipient is 18; the oldest, 66. The average age of bachelor’s degree recipients is 26. Their average grade point average is 3.20. The average age of students receiving graduate degrees is 33. The youngest student receiving a graduate degree is 21 and the oldest is 67.

The most number of degrees will be awarded in mass communications, business finance, psychology and political science.

University of Utah President Bernie Machen will officiate at this year’s commencement. The featured speaker will be native Utahn Terry Tempest Williams, nationally renowned author and environmental activist. The student speaker will be Maren Harper, a graduate in political science and team captain of the 2002 University Women’s Soccer Team.

Honorary degrees will be presented to Terry Tempest Williams, Afton Bradshaw, William H. “Bill” Child, Tom Korologos and E.W. “Al” Thrasher. The Rosenblatt Prize, a $40,000 cash award and the most prestigious honor the University bestows on its faculty, will be announced as well.

The Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients for this year are: Robert D. Allen, associate professor, Accounting and Information Systems; Richard D. Ernst, professor of Chemistry; Leonard C. Hawes, professor of Communication; Russell A. Isabella, associate professor, Family and Consumer Studies; and Marjorie A. Pett, a research professor in Nursing. The Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Award recipients are: Bill Breckenridge, professor of Chemistry; Jacqueline Osherow, professor of English; Morris Rosenzweig, professor of Music; and P. Craig Taylor, distinguished professor of Physics. The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Carol M. Werner, professor of Psychology, and Gretchen Domek, recently named Rhodes Scholar, will be recognized.

A buffet for graduates and their guests will be held between 11 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. at the Rice-Eccles Stadium Tower. A ticket is required for admission to the buffet. Graduating students may obtain one complementary buffet ticket through Wednesday, Apr. 30, at noon, at the Alumni House, 155 S. Central Campus Drive. Additional tickets may be purchased through Thursday, May 1, for $10 each, at the Alumni House, which is open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. For more information, call 801-581-6995.

The convocations for the College of Nursing and the Graduate School of Social Work will be held the day before the University’s commencement-on Thursday, May 1, 2003, at Kingsbury Hall. The College of Nursing’s ceremony will be at 5 p.m. The Graduate School of Social Work’s convocation will begin at 7:30 p.m.

Individual colleges will hold convocations at the following locations and times:
— College of Humanities: Jon M. Huntsman Center, 11:15 a.m.
— Graduate School of Architecture: Olpin Union Ballroom, 11:30 a.m.
— College of Mines and Earth Sciences: Fine Arts Auditorium, 11:30 a.m.
— College of Pharmacy: Skaggs Hall, 11:30 a.m.
— College of Science: Kingsbury Hall, 11:30 a.m.
— College of Education: Kingsbury Hall, 1:30 p.m.
— David Eccles School of Business: Jon M. Huntsman Center, 2 p.m.
— College of Fine Arts: Kingsbury Hall, 3:30 p.m.
— College of Engineering: Jon M. Huntsman Center, 4:45 p.m.
— College of Health: Kingsbury Hall, 5:30 p.m.
— College of Social and Behavioral Science: Jon M. Huntsman Center, 6:45 p.m.

Campus parking lots may be used at no charge during commencement and convocation ceremonies. Although, as campus parking is limited, graduates and their guests are encouraged to use the free U shuttle service to travel between commencement events. Shuttles run throughout campus and are scheduled every 10 minutes.

The College of Law and School of Medicine commencement ceremonies will be held on Saturday, May 24, 2003, in Kingsbury Hall. The College of Law’s convocation will be at 10 a.m. The School of Medicine’s convocation will be at 2 p.m.