UMC Links

Call for Nominations for 7th Annual Belle S. Spafford Award

January 12, 2009 — The Belle S. Spafford Endowed Chair at the University of Utah College of Social Work and the Spafford Advisory Committee invite the community to submit nominations for the annual Belle S. Spafford Award. This award honors the life and accomplishments of Belle Smith Spafford by recognizing individuals who have worked to improve the lives of Utah’s women and their families.

Award recipients exemplify the qualities of Spafford, such as leadership, inclusiveness, and integrity. Past recipients of the Belle S. Spafford Award include Helen W. Post (2008), Marilyn May Phillips (2007), Mayor JoAnn Seghini (2006), Irene Fisher (2005), Lucy Beth Rampton and Frances Farley (posthumously, 2004), and Esther Landa (2003).

“This award,” said Dr. Helen Graber, the current Spafford Chair, “is a very special way for our community to acknowledge and thank women who are actively shaping our society. Whether they are executives or mothers, teachers or humanitarians, writers, spiritual or community leaders, the contributions of these individuals are extremely valuable.”

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Spafford Endowed Chair’s website at Completed nominations must be received on or before Sunday, February 15, 2009. The Belle S. Spafford Award will be presented during the annual Belle S. Spafford Spring Roundtable in April of 2009.

Please call Dianne Cunningham at (801) 581-4863 for more information.