New Leadership for University of Utah Alumni Association Boards

Share Media Contacts

July 1, 2011 – Keven M. Rowe BS’83 JD’86 has taken the helm as president of the University of Utah Alumni Association’s Board of Directors. Heidi Makowski BS’83 is the board’s new vice president.

Rowe, a managing partner of the law firm Jones Waldo, has served three years as a member of the Alumni Association’s board. He has been chair of Kingsbury Hall’s advisory board and a member of the University’s Health Sciences Advisory Board. Makowski has been a member of that board for the past three years. She is director of development for the University’s College of Fine Arts.

Rowe said his priorities for the year ahead are to keep the alumni involved and up to date as the University enters into new territory with the selection of a new University president, as well as the U’s entry into the Pac-12.

“I am very much looking forward to serving as president of the Alumni Association Board of Directors,” Rowe said. “It is an honor to be part of this outstanding organization as it strives to serve the interests of graduates and support the University of Utah’s standards of excellence. I have big shoes to fill and hope to provide the same caliber of leadership as our former president, Michele Mattsson.”

As president of the Alumni Association’s board and one of the newest members of the University’s Board of Trustees, Rowe is also be serving on a 20-member committee assisting the Utah State Board of Regents in conducting a national search for the University’s next president. Michael K. Young, who had led the University of Utah since 2004, left in May to become president of the University of Washington.

Seven new members have also joined the Association’s Board of Directors: Julie Barrett BA’70, Jeff Cardon BS’80, Tom Cloward BA’87 MD’91, Lewis Dickman BS’75, Lindsey Ferrari BA’87, Vicki Mortensen BS’72, and Craig Stagg BSN’83. Barrett works as the headmaster’s assistant at Rowland Hall. Cardon is president of Wasatch Advisors. Cloward works as a physician for Intermountain Health Care. Dickman is a clinical analyst at Intermountain Health Care. Ferrari is a partner in the public-relations firm Wilkinson Ferrari and Co. Mortensen works as a paralegal at Matheson, Mortensen, Olsen & Jeppson. And Stagg works as a quality management consultant for Intermountain Health Care.

Three of the board’s four affiliated groups also have new presidents. Carolyn Kump BS’53 will serve as president of the Emeritus Alumni Board. Joshua D. Bradley BA’98 MD’02 is the new president of the Beehive Honor Society Board. Sam Haslam heads up the Student Alumni Board. Kump has a long career in K-12 education. Bradley is a physician. Haslam is a senior at the University of Utah majoring in exercise physiology.