American Association for the Advancement of Science

Share Media Contacts

SCOTT ANDERSON, chemistry professor and GARY DREWS, biology professor have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. They were among 503 AAAS members awarded that honor “because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished,” the group said. Anderson was recognized for his work on catalysts — substances that speed chemical reactions — particularly how particle size affects catalytic reactions. Drews was honored for “distinguished contributions to the study of plant reproduction through pioneering work” on the development of embryo sacs and the seed component known as endosperm, which is a major source of food, animal feed and industrial raw materials. AAAS has been electing members as fellows since 1874. (Dated: 01/11/2011)