University of Utah Honors 2005 Diversity Award Recipients

The University of Utah announced yesterday recipients of the 2005 Diversity Awards. Five awards were presented at the tenth annual Diversity Awards luncheon. The awards are given each year to outstanding individuals or organizations that demonstrate an active commitment to promoting and enhancing diversity at the University of Utah. Read More

November, 2005 from the U

Utes Ratchet-up Rivalry Week

Ute fans will begin rooting for a victory against BYU this year a full week before the annual football game on November 19th. The five-day Rivalry Week celebration will kick-off on Monday, Nov. 14 when students, faculty, staff, players, and coaches take to the streets of Salt Lake City to “paint the town red.” Groups will gather at 11 a.m. atop the parking terrace of Smith’s Marketplace at 455 S. 500 E. to pick up cans of red paint. They will paint slogans in red encouraging the Ute football team to crush the Cougars on the football field the following Saturday. Read More


University Community Mourns Loss of Former Fine Arts Dean Robert S. Olpin

Robert Spencer Olpin, 65, beloved professor of art history and former dean of the College of Fine Arts at the University of Utah, passed away Saturday, Nov. 5, due to complications following a stroke. Read More

PR Guru Pamela Fogle Headlines Town and Gown Forum

The Department of Communication’s annual public event, A Town and Gown Forum, will feature Pamela Fogle, this year’s Parry D. Sorensen Distinguished Lecturer. The annual gathering that celebrates the important role professional communicators play in the education of Communication students at the U will be held Tuesday, November 8, 2005 at 7:00 p.m. in the Idaho Ballroom at the Little America Hotel, 500 South Main Street, Downtown Salt Lake City. Read More

U Rakes in Science Medals

Three University of Utah faculty members, a former vice president for research and a university graduate who works in the state crime laboratory are among 11 winners of the 2005 Utah Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology. Read More